Author Topic: Entry level job prospects/pay potential?  (Read 4417 times)

Description:

jaydot33

Entry level job prospects/pay potential?
« on: January 13, 2012, 06:50:43 am »
Now I may be getting ahead of myself but as I formulate my game plan for the next year or so I was wondering what I would be worth by the time I graduated. I'm currently studying for the Net+ while completing my associates in Networking. By the time I graduate (hopefully next fall or spring semester) I would like have my Net+, Security+, and A+ certs. After which I would like to enter the work force and get my CCNA within the following year.

My question is, with just an associates, and the above mentioned CompTia certs, how much would I be worth at an entry level? Living in the NY/NJ area, how much could I look to for a starting salary?
"When you want to succeed as bad as you want to breathe, then you'll be successful."

So, the question is, how bad do you want it?

Bill

• Administrator
    • The Antique Gique
Re: Entry level job prospects/pay potential?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2012, 07:09:08 am »
With the current job market being what it is, and the lack of actual experience, it's really hard to put any kind of dollar amount out there. I do look for the IT industry to really rebound and you definitely have some positive goals and seem to be focused on them.

We have our own business (non-IT), so I'm not really up to date on what the average person entering the job market is making. If you can accomplish your goals, that should at least put you in an excellent position to do well. Let me do a little research and see if I can locate a bit of information on the potentials of todays market and what credentials might be most beneficial.

By the way, welcome aboard.
"Success is the small voice you hear within,
when you know you have done your best."

jaydot33

« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2012, 07:38:32 am »